10 Memorable Poems That will Make You Miss School Terribly

Keeping Quiet by Pablo Neruda

Blog-Keeping-Quite

Perhaps the earth can teach us
as when everything seems dead

and later proves to be alive.

Now I’ll count up to twelve,
and you keep quiet and I will go.

An Elementary School Classroom in a Slum Explanation by Stephen Spender

Students study in a classroom of a government-run school at a slum area on the outskirts of Jammu April 3, 2010. India's Prime Minister Manmohan Singh promised on Thursday to launch a guarantee of free elementary education, in a fresh sign the government was focusing on big-ticket programmes to consolidate its rural and poor voters. REUTERS/Mukesh Gupta (INDIAN-ADMINISTERED KASHMIR - Tags: EDUCATION SOCIETY)

Break O break open ’till they break the town
And show the children green fields and make their world
Run azure on gold sands, and let their tongues
Run naked into books, the white and green leaves open
History is theirs whose language is the sun.

Aunt Jennifers Tigers by Adrienne Rich

hqdefault

When Aunt is dead, her terrified hands will lie
Still ringed with ordeals she was mastered by.
The tigers in the panel that she made
Will go on prancing, proud and unafraid.

A Thing of Beauty is a Joy Forever by John Keats

keats

A thing of beauty is a joy for ever:

Its loveliness increases; it will never
Pass into nothingness; but still will keep
A bower quiet for us, and a sleep
Full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing.

A Roadside Stand by Robert Frost

ma-FallFruittand-6768

And then next day as I come back into the sane,

I wonder how I should like you to come to me

And offer to put me gently out of my pain.

The Road Not Taken By Robert Frost

140837115wwqWOf_fs

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Daffodils by William Wordsworth

daffodils
For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

Snake by D.H Lawrence

cotton2010
And so, I missed my chance with one of the lords
Of life.
And I have something to expiate:
A pettiness.

Laburnum Top by Ted Hughes

Laburnum-C

Then with eerie delicate whistle-chirrup whisperings

She launches away, towards the infinite

And the laburnum subsides to empty

The Frog and The Nightingale by Vikram Seth

bg1
Said the frog: “I tried to teach her,
But she was a stupid creature –
Far too nervous, far too tense.
Far too prone to influence.
Well, poor bird – she should have known
That your song must be your own.

About Oditty.me

www.oditty.me. For a book lover, writer, interestingness hunter and a curious mind at large. We are blurring the lines between reality and fiction.

Leave a Reply

