Dan Brown’s Letter to the Freemasons

Literary suspense was quite redefined when Dan Brown burst onto the scene. His exuberant language and vivid descriptions have made him the king of this genre. His prowess as a mystery writer is second to none. Readers are particularly crazy about him because of the mysterious treasure hunts he sends his characters on. He is the creator of Robert Langdon, the world’s foremost expert on matters pertaining to history and murder. Author of the fabled books the Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons, this man is truly sent from another world.

As we near his birthday we take a look at Dan Brown and The Lost Symbol. Many Freemasons were mighty relieved when The Lost Symbol was released – for months they’d expected Dan Brown to portray the Craft in a negative light. Instead, the novel was a big love-in – a fact that surprised many people, including Maureen Dowd. If that wasn’t enough Brown sent a letter to the freemasons themselves!

“Guests of the Southern Jurisdiction,

It is my great honor to be invited to greet you via this letter. I had hoped I might be able to join you in person tonight, but the launch of my novel The Lost Symbol has me far from Washington.

In the past few weeks, as you might imagine, I have been repeatedly asked what attracted me to the Masons so strongly as to make it a central point of my new book. My reply is always the same: “In a world where men do battle over whose definition of God is most accurate, I cannot adequately express the deep respect and admiration I feel toward an organization in which men of differing faiths are able to ‘break bread together’ in a bond of brotherhood, friendship, and camaraderie.”

Please accept my humble thanks for the noble example you set for humankind. It is my sincere hope that the Masonic community recognizes The Lost Symbol for what it truly is…an earnest attempt to reverentially explore the history and beauty of Masonic Philosophy.

Yours sincerely,
Dan Brown”


Written By

Vaibhav Sharma

IMG_0621

Leave a Reply

