Who wants to be a millionaire…er…author?

speak-up

So you want to be an author, huh? Join the queue. Millions of dreamers want to be one, and they are very talented writers with a repertoire of some fancy and obscure words that are seldom used. Their grammar is perfect and their statement construction is flawless. So it should be a no-brainer for them to write great books that everyone wants to read. Right? Wrong.

There are many elements that make up a good book. The most important element (at least in my opinion) is that the story should come from the heart. When I started to write my book in January of 2010, it took me less than a week to pour my initial thoughts down. However, to expand on the idea, to read over and over again for typos, to tighten the storyline, etc. – took me about fifteen months. Was it worth it? Absolutely. It was a journey down memory lane that I thoroughly enjoyed. If you decide to write a book, don’t hurry. I know…I know…you must be thinking, “it’s easy for you to say.” But believe me, it’s worth it. I too was very impatient in the beginning as I was very eager to have my “masterpiece” out.

My thinking was very simple. To make people read my book and let them decide if it was worth their time. Unlike seeing a movie (where one spends only 2-3 hours of their time), reading a book is at least a week of their time. So it better be worth it.

About Author of India Was One

The author was born and raised in Mumbai, India. He came to the US in 1989 to New York. He currently resides in Los Angeles with his wife and two children. W: www.IndiaWasOne.com, F: www.facebook.com/IndiaWasOne, T: www.twitter.com/IndiaWasOne.

Leave a Reply

